Our Life

To be an Augustinian Recollect means to live the Christian life in the style of St. Augustine: having a profound experience of prayer, sharing life in community and working for the Kingdom of God.

Community life

Fraternal life is very important for the Augustinian Recollects. Each community organizes its life by preparing a project of life and mission in which the times of common prayer and fraternal sharing, community activities and the various apostolic services are indicated. The community is apostolic and its first apostolate is the community itself. The Augustinian Recollect, living his own charism and in communion with the local church, evangelizes and exercises his apostolic ministry. Contemplation is a primordial element of the patrimony of St. Augustine and of the Order.


Faithful followers of St. Augustine, a great philosopher and eminent theologian, whose writings and lofty doctrine have earned him the title of Doctor of the Church and one of the Fathers of the Western Church, the Augustinian Recollects strive for an intellectual and cultural formation that will enable them to better serve in their apostolates.


Contemplative love, besides uniting souls and hearts in community, is in itself diffusive and apostolic. The Augustinian Recollect religious is called to carry within himself love, the essence of which is to give and communicate; the more he participates in the knowledge and love of God, the more strongly he tends to spread this knowledge and love.


It is clear that the mission of the Augustinian Recollects is not reduced to a concrete activity, but must be characterized by their availability to respond to the needs of the Church. It is for this reason that the work of the Augustinian Recollects is very varied. The work carried out in the different parishes can be highlighted, as well as the praiseworthy dedication that the Recollects have had in the different mission territories entrusted to them. There are currently nine mission territories served by the Augustinian Recollects: China, Sierra Leone, Bocas del Toro in Panama, Chota in Peru, the island of Marajó and the Amazon in Brazil, Trinidad in Colombia, Taiwan and Cuba.