Prior General

The position of Prior General of the Order of Augustinian Recollects for the six-year term 2022-2028 falls to Miguel Ángel Hernández. It is responsible, together with the General Council, for guiding and fulfilling the directives proposed by the General Chapter of 2022.

Friar Miguel Ángel Hernández Domínguez


Miguel Ángel Hernández Domínguez was born in Collado Villalba (Madrid, Spain) on January 19, 1965. After his novitiate in Los Negrales (Madrid) and Burgos, he made his simple profession on June 24, 1984 and, later, in the same place on December 10, 1988, he made his solemn profession of vows as an Augustinian Recollect. He was ordained deacon in 1989 in Madrid by the auxiliary bishop of the same diocese, Msgr. Luis Gutierrez. Months later, on June 30, 1990, also in Madrid, the Augustinian Recollect Bishop Mons. Florentino Zabalza ordained him a priest.

From that time until 2006, Miguel Ángel Hernández carried out his pastoral work in Brazil, first in Rio de Janeiro, then in Sao Paolo and, later, in Belém do Pará, in the latter place as a formator. During the period 2000-2006, for two three-year periods, he served as Vicar Provincial. On July 20, 2006, the Provincial Chapter of the Province of St. Thomas of Villanova elected him Prior Provincial, a position he held until 2012.

For six years, Hernandez dedicated himself to the formation of young Augustinian Recollects, first in the novitiate of Monteagudo and then in the theologate in Granada. In 2018, the religious of the Province of St. Thomas of Villanova elected him Prior Provincial again, a task to which he was devoting himself until March 22, 2022, when he was elected Prior General of the Order of Augustinian Recollects.

The Prior General’s news

Previous Priors General

Enrique Pérez

1912 - 1914

Fidel de Blas

1914 - 1918

Eugenio Sola

1918 - 1920

Gregorio Segura

1920 - 1926

Vicente Soler


Gerardo Larrondo

1927 - 1932

Jesús Fernández

1932 - 1938

Leoncio Reta

1938 - 1944

Feliciano de Ocio

1944 - 1950

Eugenio Ayape

1950 - 1962

Gregorio Armas


Ángel Armarcegui

1962 - 1968

Luis Garayoa

1968 - 1974

James McGuire

1974 - 1980

Javier Ruiz

1980 - 1986

Javier Pipaón

1986 - 1998

Javier Guerra

1998 - 2010

Miguel Miró

2010 - 2022